Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Hi all. First post. Total beginner here.

Not sure where to post this so, please feel free to move it.

Very impressed with the amount of knowledge and experience so generously shared in this forum.

Bought a 2005 LJ Rubicon 4.0 in Jan in order to wean myself off a life time of being a dirt biker. Getting old and the body just does not want to tolerate the aches and pains of riding anymore.

Anyways, love learning this new sport and can certainly see why people get addicted to it!

Question: other than turning around on a safe section and driving back down, what is the best technique for backing down a hill (after a failed attempt) with an auto trans when one has no other choice but to back it down?

The reason I ask is the other day I tried to completely stop my jeep (just to get my bearings) while backing down a moderate hill (easy to moderate blue) while in reverse and in 4 low.

(Did not need 4 low but am practicing to get as much seat time as possible for the harder stuff in the future)

While having stock discs on all 4 wheels, I still could not make the jeep come to a complete stop while really cranking on the brake pedal. Had to put it into neutral to stop it.

Obviously, the pull of the downhill as well as the low gearing of the T case/4 low while in reverse wanted to keep pulling the jeep down the hill.

I had heard people upgrade the discs for better stopping power but not ready to do that.

It just seemed that with reverse not being that low as far as gearing goes (unlike 1st gear), it would seem to me that the 4 wheel discs should have been enough to completely stop me. Even in 4 low.