Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, Im pretty new to doing my own car repairs and of course after getting my first Jeep I cant stop. Only problem is, I want to do it myself..lol. So, for all those tinkers out there..whats a good short list of tools needed to perform basic(tire,oil,brake) to intermediate(Suspension system,exhaust etc..) repairs and mods?

·
Registered
253 Posts
Alright, Im pretty new to doing my own car repairs and of course after getting my first Jeep I cant stop. Only problem is, I want to do it myself..lol. So, for all those tinkers out there..whats a good short list of tools needed to perform basic(tire,oil,brake) to intermediate(Suspension system,exhaust etc..) repairs and mods?
I was always a fan of craftsman mechanics tool set but lately quality has been decreasing. I've found that the new dewalt line of hand tools is really good. Good warranty good quality and they are really stout.

Look into a mechanics tool set from dewalt

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
Get a decent socket set, with 1/2", 3/8" and 1/4" drivers, and all the corresponding sockets, extensions, etc. You'll probably spend about $150 or so for something of decent quality, it should have about 150 - 200 pieces. Then grab metric and SAE wrench sets that contain about 12 - 14 wrenches or so each, up to size about 1"/24mm. Then maybe a nice screwdriver set. You can do about 80 - 90% of jobs with something like that.

·
Registered
230 Posts
I own a lot of tools, first set I bought was Snap-On. They are stupid pricey now. I have been impressed with the Kobalt line that Lowes carry and they are affordable. They have some good priced sets but you will still need to fill in on things like hammers, adjustable wrenches, locking pliers and the sort no matter what brand you buy.

·
Registered
10,546 Posts