Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, so I am a new member to the forum but I have searched this forum for a many things regarding my Jeep. I am new to all the rules so sorry if this answer exists out there, but I have not been able to find exactly what I am looking for.

I have a 99 TJ with the 4.0 L I6 and I have a tiny crack in my manifold which has come to cause power loss and lots of noise. I am short on money and time so at the moment I am looking just to temporarily fix the manifold and not replace it. For the longest time I simply had stainless steel foil wrapped around the whole and held in place with hose clamps but that has come undone. Does anyone have information on max temps put out by the manifold and if there is a kind of wrap that will withstand those temps? Also, could a ceramic high heat spray be used to seal the hole? Or is the ceramic coating strictly preventive.

Again, sorry if all this is already on the forum but I have had a hard time finding these specific answers. Thanks for any help

·
Premium Member
471 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I did work in the engine testing field at one point. Temperatures just off the block can still be around that of inside the cylinder, and unless you removed most of your exhaust components, the pressures can still be pretty high.

I'm not sure wraps/sealants/etc will work for a long period of time. They will probably just be a bandaid fix. They might hold for a little while, but I'd probably try and find a solid manifold.

·
Registered
1,269 Posts
The exhaust manifold is not difficult to remove, but there is a lot of stuff that has to be removed to remove it. Power steering pump and intake manifold to start with.

Once out it could possibly be repaired very inexpensively at a good muffler shop.