Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an everyday driver of a 2014 Jeep Wrangler. I want to get better tires than the ones that came standard. (After 20k miles, I was being told that I needed new tires every time I took it in for an oil change.) They have also been terrible on wet pavement.
I do take it off road from time to time in northern Michigan, so I would like a tire that works decent for both. I am also considering changing out rims. I don't have a lot of tire knowledge, so Any advice or suggestions?

Thanks a million everyone.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Jeepgirl,

There are many great tires out there, but from what you describe you would want an all terrain tire vs a mud terrain.

Some of the more popular all terrain (AT) tires are Nitto ridge grapplers, Nitto Terra grapplers, Toyo MT, BFG, etc.

You can find lots of info on the web about these tires, and on this forum.

Wheels are personal preference. I think the most popular are the 17 inch.

·
Premium Member
852 Posts
New Tires after 20,000 miles ?

Sorry , but I don't think you need new tires after only 20,000 miles . Will you consult a competent independent experienced Jeep mechanic for a second opinion ? Sounds like they are trying to sell you new tires . Was it a dealer who told you this ? Be very careful .:bop:

·
Registered
266 Posts
I have the open country R/T. They are great tires. Haven't been stuck in the mud yet but we don't get very thick mud in southern MA it worked out great in the snow and for tread as thick as it is there is hardly any noise on city streets or highway. They are self cleaning and all. I think it's a really good tire.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
179 Posts
Do you have a Sport, Sahara, or Rubicon? Not sure what your standard tires are now...