Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
733 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to have to buy a new soft top. I'm sticking with the Bestop Supertop NX, well maybe. The Trektop looks cool too.

Has anyone have any experience with the Black Twill fabric? How does it compare to the black diamond sailcloth?

·
Registered
916 Posts
I just put a new Black Diamond sailcloth top on a couple of weeks ago.
I originally wanted a twill top.
Over a couple of years time, I looked at the twill tops at several off-road shows, and really liked the quality and rich black color that they are.
But after talking to someone about keeping them clean of off road dust, I changed my mind.
I really like the look of the twill. If I was a street driver only I would have saved the coin to get a twill top.
But I'm not a street only driver. So the bestop black diamond sailcloth top is what I got. I'm happy with it. It does have a couple of fitment issues, but overall it's fine. Cleans up pretty easily too.

·
Knows a couple things...
49,414 Posts
I have Sailcloth on my TJ, twill on my BMW. As said above, twill is harder to keep clean and it's also not a resistant to damage as Sailcloth is. Twill looks richer but I don't believe it belongs on a TJ.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I think you Sailcloth fan boys may have just saved me a wad of cash. Best price I can get the Trektop NX here for is £900 for Black Diamond and £1400 for Twill, both incl. delivery. I take mine into the mud a fair amount and if the twill is harder to clean, then I can tell my good lady to go spend some money on herself. :)

Regards

Mark

·
Knows a couple things...
49,414 Posts