Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So to start off, I am new to Jeep building. I have had my JKU for a little over a year and have made small mods to it(Light Bar, Bumper). Now I have bought the 4in Mopar lift kit with Fox reservoir shocks. I am planning on installing this with a set of 35in tires on 17in rims and was wondering if a stock Dana 44(rear)/ Dana 30(front) with a 3.21 gear ratio is strong enough. Ive hear and read mixed feelings. Should I upgrade to 3.73 gears or higher such as 4.10 and 4.56. Looking at charts it seams that a 4.10 and 4.56 are great for moderate trail use which is all the jeep will be doing.

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
I️ personally would re-gear. Is it livable? Yes. Would I️ want to drive it all the time like that? No. If you are only going to 35’s and no larger I️ would do 4:56

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
926 Posts
I have a 3" lift and 35's and I immediately regeared to 4.56 ....3.21 was just too sluggish...I also replaced the D30 with a D44 for wheeling purposes. If you are going to keep the 30 I would recommend beefing it up with support kits.

Saw that you looked at that chart. at 72 MPH I'm doing 2600 rpms which gives me some power to hit it to 3000 rpms to pass and go faster...rarely do I have to downshift. GL (not sure if you have auto or standard)

·
Registered
2,232 Posts
4.56's worked for me. rear 44 is fine, maybe eventually add new axle shafts. I still have my d30 up front but it is really beefed up(as much as you can with a d30). I did keep the stock axle shafts so they break 1st...hopefully.

With a 4" lift you might start looking at driveshafts, at least a front one to start)

·
Registered
180 Posts
in my experience it starts with 35's and you end up with 40's next time you need tires lol. With that said i would re-gear to a ratio that covers the span of any future mods that may come up.