Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening. Long time Jeep Owner, first time "lifter" here.
I am in the process of turning my daily driver '97 TJ Wrangler Sport into a little taller toy. Because this is my first time lifting or doing pretty much anything after market to my toy I have opted to go small with a 2.5" lift from rough country. Problem is my bump stops/Jounce bumpers. I want to address them when I remove my springs (to replace them as I am aware that will be much easier).
I am attaching photos for reference, however I have several questions that I have not found clear enough answers from other inquiries to help me with what I need....
1. Are the front AND the back referred to as jounce bumpers (with a cup) or is the rear one a bump stop?
2.I do not see a pad on the bottom (frame), is this OEM or is there something missing there as well?
3. I have not found a detail that shows how the cups/caps are attached so, How on earth do I remove the cups that remain?
3b. Do I need to buy new cups/caps or will they be necessary with the aftermarket products?
4. With it only being a 2.5" lift, I am not sure what I truly need to be looking for.. (spacers, jounce bumper, bump stop,....)
Also, I have been struggling at differentiating between ones for the front and ones for the rear when looking at replacements?
5. While it is my understanding that the size is based upon the full travel of the shock, do I need to measure the front AND the back shock or??? Also, I have attached a photo of my front shock (to be installed) is it 18" fully compressed or???
PLEASE, any and all recommendations as to what I need to use as a guide with regards to selecting for front and rear is appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,979 Posts