Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I’m new to the Jeep world after last owning a Jeep 20 yrs ago. I am looking at a 2015 Sahara with some mods (lift, tires, lights and powered running boards) has 29k miles for $35. Not sure if a good deal and know it is only worth what someone is willing to pay for it but I like it. I’m also debating to buy one that has no mods and add (via mechanic) them overtime.

From a cost perspectiveand I know one can go crazy with mods, I tried looking it up online for the cost and estimate the labor costs. Purely from cost point of view, would it be more efficient to buy and then add on your own or buy with the mods already there?

I am looking at 2015 or newer with under 35k miles and spending around $25-35

Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,126 Posts
Dealers do not pay extra for people that have accessories (lift/tires/add ons) when people trade them. That being said, many people buy them already accessorized. If you are buying it used, might be best to get it inspected at a reputable mechanic. Personally, I do not buy into additional pricing on a used vehicle for said aftermarket parts. You can save a ton of cash buying one that is already done.

Market can wildly deviate prices, out here in the PNW that seems like it should be a 30-33k rig not knowing how many other factory options are on it and if it is certified.

Getting it installed from stock, you know the quality of the product being put in along with the changes immediately felt. Along with a warranty of sorts from the installers. This could be a good way to go as well, but can add up, like you imply.

·
Registered
4,579 Posts
The powered running boards alone are 1200-2000 bucks (plus install if you have a pro do it) . That's money saved if you buy with them included, and money lost if you have to add them to another machine. Normally you don't recoup too much money on mods that you add