Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Good day everyone.

I am new to the Jeep family. I will be taking delivery of a 2012 jeep wrangler sahara jk 2 door later this week. Been dreaming of owning a jeep for a couple of years and finally decided to bite the bullet.

The jeep seems to be in good condition and seems very well looked after. It has some aftermarket shocks fitted by the previous owner, unsure of what brand it is. It currently has 60 000 miles on it.

I can see that it was previously serviced at 53 000 miles, but unsure exactly what was done.

I am planning on doing a oil filter and oil change after receiving it before going to hit my first trail in my first of many jeeps 馃榿.

Question is, will it be worth it to also change the transfer case and differential fluid?

I am fairly capable with my hands so will be doing services and maintenance myself. Have read up about it and watched multiple YouTube videos on it.

Any advice of what else to also perhaps check will be appreciated.

Thanks everyone, sorry for the long post.:)

Registered
It wouldn't hurt to get them flushed if you are doing it yourself. Look at the diff covers for any sign that they have been opened before. Jeep used an adhesive for the gasket material. If you plan to do the diff flush again in the future get the solid gasket replacements and skip the mess.

The trans is probably fine, but doesn't hurt getting some new fluid. You didn't say if it's a 6 Spd or Auto. The 6 Spd will make a mess all over the crossmember

Registered
It wouldn't hurt to get them flushed if you are doing it yourself. Look at the diff covers for any sign that they have been opened before. Jeep used an adhesive for the gasket material. If you plan to do the diff flush again in the future get the solid gasket replacements and skip the mess.