Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm having a b-day on Sunday and wanted to buy myself a present in the form of a YJ, my first jeep. Since I am new to the Jeep game, I wanted to ask for a little advice on things to look for. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, I can't wait to get into the hobby.

·
Registered
2,016 Posts
Feels like this is an everyday thing on here but glad to help nun the less. First off if you buy one the search engine on here is your best friend. What are you looking to do with it? Pure street, street n 2 tracks, pure off-road? Main thing is checking for rust on frame and body. Holes are bad! Second yu need to make sure it doesn't have any leaks ANYWHERE. Third make sure all mechanicals work. Just because it's big and flashy n jacked up with a fancy paint job don't be afraid to walk away because the frame is rusted out. Plus it all depends on the money you have to spend

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I should have been more specific, I spaced out before I was finished. The three Jeeps I'm going to look at are all pretty different. One is stock for the most part but does have a new body. Not sure about rust on the rest of the Jeep. The next is mildly customized, on 35" tires with a 4" sus lift, not sure about much other than it runs great. The last is one, no rust from what I understand, and also has a lot of mods, Ford 302 conversion with a lot of extra parts, a lot more done to it. All three are in the 3000-3500 range.

I like the idea of the more built one, but it sounds like I can be getting into a big headache. It is probably the cheapest of them all. What do I look for with a V8 conversion?

·
Registered
514 Posts
Weld on the engine mounts hacked up wiring.. angles the shafts are at and parts used for conversion.. I would stay away from the 35s

·