Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Who has one, what's your favorite, and why? I'll usually be carrying one boat, but may occasionally go as many as three (any more and I'll use a trailer). I have a good friend who is an amazing fabricator, so I'll probably be paying him for a custom job, but I was looking for what has worked for others.

·
Premium Member
4,934 Posts
I have a Congo Cage by Kargo Master. I purchased Yakima bar adapters for it. I have 4 Yaks and have had them down to Florida and up to Maine from Massachusetts. I use all Yakima appliances including ski racks. When I carry 4 yaks, I use the yak stacker and sharks for the two in the center and the J rack for the two on the ends. Long ones in the center and short ones on the ends. Absolutely no problems with them getting loose. I have a system that works for me. On the trip to Florida from MA, they never loosened or made noise. It has been a great system.

·
Premium Member
4,934 Posts
Proline GMR-165 Car Rain Gutter Roof Luggage Racks saw this on another site or post.. 50 bucks cant go wrong
I went and looked at the link. Can't trust more than 40 pounds to the rain gutters says the engineers at Yakima. Skis up top - maybe but nothing more with that system. Yaks up top you are taking a heck of a chance with your yak(s) even one yak is too many. Trust me on that one.

·
Registered
3,124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The design we came up with is going to have alot in common with the Congo, thanks for the tip! We're about 3 weeks out from starting, but I'll try to remember to get progress pics and tips throughout to help all the do-it-yourself folks here.

·
Registered
317 Posts
I have the warrior products rack works wirh both hard and soft tops

·
Registered
286 Posts