Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to CB's and need some assistance. I installed my $40 RadioShack cb over the weekend. I installed it directly to the battery and it works fine. The antenna is a Firefly 3' with a tunable tip. I have it installed in the back of the Jeep with a tire carrier mount. I initially tested the setup without the antenna grounded and I was able to send and receive with okay range. So I then ran the ground for the antenna to the front of the jeep where I have my KC lights and the radio grounded. When I tested it again I got nothing. Not even static. Could the ground be interfering?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I tested the SWR (not sure if I was doing it right, but I think I was) and I was getting between 1- 1.5 without the ground.

I will read through the thread.

·
Premium Member
695 Posts
I tested the SWR (not sure if I was doing it right, but I think I was) and I was getting between 1- 1.5 without the ground.

I will read through the thread.
If you were getting 1-1.5 on all channels. You were good and you did not need to do anything further.

·
Knows a couple things...
49,388 Posts
I am new to CB's and need some assistance. I installed my $40 RadioShack cb over the weekend. I installed it directly to the battery and it works fine. The antenna is a Firefly 3' with a tunable tip. I have it installed in the back of the Jeep with a tire carrier mount. I initially tested the setup without the antenna grounded and I was able to send and receive with okay range. So I then ran the ground for the antenna to the front of the jeep where I have my KC lights and the radio grounded. When I tested it again I got nothing. Not even static. Could the ground be interfering?