Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a CB radio for Christmas and wanna instill it saw a YouTube video that a guy hooked it up to one of his fuses in the box to power it. First I'm not good with wires so this idea seems pretty easy just gotta buy a fuse adapter and hook it up. Now question I have which fuse should I use? 19 that says spare? Idk if it's a spare I can use for whatever or it just says spare and in use already. Or 16 that isn't in use?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,893 Posts
I'd wire it directly to the battery that way you lessen the chance of nasty "electrical interference noise" from the vehicle coming through the radio.

·
Knows a couple things...
49,386 Posts
No, don't connect your CB to the fuse box despite what you saw on that video. Basic 2-way Radio Installation 101 says to always power any 2-way radio directly from the battery to reduce the likelihood of electrical noise from things like the fuel pump being introduced into the CB.

Instead, connect the power leads directly to the battery insuring that at least one of those leads has an inline fuse. To make it easier, you can simply ground the black lead directly to the tub or other ground point you find, and connect the red lead to the stud on the PDC (power distribution center) which is located directly in front of the battery. That stud is more convenient and it is connected directly to the battery.

The stud is under a small cover on the battery side of the PDC that unsnaps to reveal the stud that provides 12 volts to the power distribution center. It's a clean source of power that won't intrude static, whine, etc. into your CB.

Make sure the black ground lead for your CB is well grounded, there are a number of suitable electrical grounds you can use scattered around the Jeep.

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·