Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, sorry for all the stupid questions and stupid questions to come. I'm a newb as I've mentioned before I'm going to get a cb and have seen hand held portable units. Is it better to get a traditional unit or a portable one? Thanks again for any help u guys and gals always give

·
Registered
4,471 Posts
SoCalChris said:
Ok, sorry for all the stupid questions and stupid questions to come. I'm a newb as I've mentioned before I'm going to get a cb and have seen hand held portable units. Is it better to get a traditional unit or a portable one? Thanks again for any help u guys and gals always give
Traditional is really the best. I've been using a handheld for ages, even though I have a new in box Cobra, and Fire-Stik antennae sitting in my garage. Too broke and lazy to install it. The hand held just doesn't have the range or power you need on the trail. Mine will end up being for my spotter as soon as I get the new one in.

Just my $.02 worth.

·
I do my own stunts.
3,019 Posts
Most people like the traditional units. I'm in the minority. I like my handheld Cobra 38WXST unit. When connected to a properly tuned quality antenna like my 4' Firestick, it transmits and receives for miles, as well as any other unit on the trails. I like the handheld unit because it easily disappears and gets out of the way when not needed, which is most of the time I'm driving my Jeep. Also when I'm out of my Jeep on the trail, I can take my handheld CB with me and stay in communication with the group.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Traditional. You can get some pretty compact units for not a lot of money. I got a Uniden 520 and it is way out of the way and transmits receives really well.