Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
853 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to communications and was hoping to get some guidance regarding buying a CB radio. Main use -trail. There are a few of those on crageslist.com but what am I looking at when buying it used or new?

·
Registered
16,641 Posts

·
Registered
698 Posts
find a cb shop, buy a cobra 29 and have it peaked and tuned. tune your antenna well and you will never have to change your setup.

·
Registered
853 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
RSC17 said:
find a cb shop, buy a cobra 29 and have it peaked and tuned. tune your antenna well and you will never have to change your setup.
Any recommendations for the antenna? I saw this Firestick. Looked fine and reasonably priced but is that a good product? Are there any more of that class?

·
Registered
698 Posts
I run a 4ft firestick and mine's pretty well tuned. I have to say I'm getting around 15 miles of range. Some say firesticks are hard to tune but I love mine.

·
Registered
9,914 Posts
:cool: I've got the Cobra 29 LTDBT and (tunable) 4' firestik-

Sometimes, when I'm on top of a hill I can receive from 45/50 miles-can't xmitt that far though-

Look into Cobra Mods 75 for little close range use, I'll never use that type though !!

:rofl::rofl: JIMBO

·
Registered
698 Posts
:cool: I've got the Cobra 29 LTDBT and (tunable) 4' firestik-

Sometimes, when I'm on top of a hill I can receive from 45/50 miles-can't xmitt that far though-

Look into Cobra Mods 75 for little close range use, I'll never use that type though !!

:rofl::rofl: JIMBO
x2 on that range. i have the LTD ST to be more specific and it's wonderful. To tell the truth, I was unhappy with my walmart cobra cb. Outside of real close range, it's terrible even with a well tuned antenna.

·
Dont forget a Jack strap
30,851 Posts
XJ Knight said: