Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I was changing the gear oil in my D35 on my '06 TJ. Now just for some background, I bought my Jeep with about 60k miles. It now has about 120k. This is my first time ever changing the gear oil (I know, that's really bad and I'm sorry).
Anyways, while I was cleaning out the pumpkin I came across the chunk of metal in the picture below. Anybody know what it is or how bad this is?
I couldn't see this big of a piece missing from anything. I'm also including a picture of what I could see for reference (for some reason it's flipped). Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
910 Posts
Is it a magnet? Maybe the previous owner put it in there to attract any metal.

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
First thing that came to my mind was "Oh f$%k". Where's the rest?

·
Super Moderator
9,601 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I think Jay14sport might be right. It seems like a magnet and it was sitting in the well in the bottom like someone put it there to catch metal shavings. However it's certainly crudely broken in half. Makes me wonder if the other half is still in there or if the PO just put in half of a magnet. However, there were also a few scratches on the inside of the diff cover like it might have been floating around in there at some point.

It doesn't seem like the right size or shape to be a c-clip (based on my google image search). That being said, I'm planning on upgrading to a Ford 8.8 as soon as I get my annual bonus in a couple months.

Any other thoughts? I'm assuming if it is a magnet I should probably keep it out.

·
Registered
847 Posts