Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to taking my jeep off road. I made the beginners mistake of trying to cross water without testing the depth first and even seeing if tracks were on the other side and got stuck and the engine died. I was pulled out and attempted to crank, it cranked first try. The clutch however would not engage so i was towed out to the street and got a tow back to the house. Is the entire clutch in need of replacing or is there something that i could have messed up when getting stuck in water that is not allowing the clutch to engage?

Attachments

·
Registered
3,196 Posts
Looks like fun! :rofl: be careful, you were pretty close to hydrolock! If you pushed in the clutch at all when you were under water, you got mud and water between the clutch pad and flywheel, probably ruining the clutch or throwout bearing. I would get all new parts for under there, should be less than $200 and get a luk clutch kit, thats what tthey use stock.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yea thankfully i didn't get hydrolock that would have really ruined my day. Yea i pushed the clutch in tried to reverse out once i couldn't go forward anymore that didn't work either. Turns out the other side had a decent incline which my bumper got stuck in.

·
Registered
248 Posts
Been there, done that. Two sundays ago. Sorry to hear of your issues. I got lucky and was able to power through it. I didn't loose the clutch, but my fluids were all toast. Definitely second the opinion of changing all of them. Engine, Diffs, Tranny, Transfer Case. The 2nd day after it happened my starter quit disengaging so I had to replace it. I'm guessing it was purely a coincidence but on the 3rd day after my thermostat died as well.

Guess we both learned our lesson! On the bright side we both got lucky and didnt lock the engines so at least there's that!