Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i've got quotes from my local Tire Kingdom.

265/70R18s

Cooper Discoverer A/T3s - $1007 out-the-door

BFG All-Terrain T/A KO2s - $1300 out-the-door

there are a couple of discounts built into the above quotes and for the most part i trust these guys because i've been going there for 8+ years with several cars at this point. the manager tells me the KO2s are better and i don't doubt that - but $300 better?

what say this board??

·
Registered
2,866 Posts
I have been buying Cooper tires for my vehicles for about 10 years now. They are very good tire. If the BFG tires are better, it is not by much. For off-roading, I would buy the BFG KO2 tires simply because the thread is a little more aggressive. But, if you do mainly street driving, I would definitely get the Cooper A/T3s.

·
Registered
1,451 Posts
I had the AT/3s on a 4Runner and now have the KO2s on a Grand Cherokee. I can honestly say I prefer the KO2 is every way but price. They look better, ride quieter on the highway (had to compare with windows down since the Jeep is already a lot quieter than the 4R), and handle better in ice/snow/gravel.

If we close the deal on this JKU I'm shopping, I'll be ponying up for another set of KO2s without hesitation.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
a disclaimer - i'm in FL so ice/snow is not a factor. every now and then i go to NC but rarely is there much snow on the ground.

·
Registered
1,451 Posts
Yeah we started with the 4Runner in Jacksonville before we moved to Colorado. I'd still recommend the KO2.

One other note - both manufacturers are offering a $70 VISA/MC card right now so make sure you get your receipt and ask for the tire stickers. Cooper was a pain about that last time.

·
Registered
615 Posts