Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I blew my diff. I'm poor and having a hard time finding a Dana 35 rear 3.07 that's not blown lol. And I'm a noob. And a buddy is telling me to uprade to a 8 1/4. What is that? Sorry for the ignorance. Is it bolt on ready? Do I need new driveshafts?
What's the "411" ..

·
Premium Member
1,729 Posts
I'm sure me meant an 8.8. It is made by ford and came from the explorer. They can come with a wide range of gear ratios and LSD's. They are not complete bolt in but are pretty close. Just a few things that needed to make them work on your TJ.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Mortalis beat me to it. The only "bolt in" rear axles are going to be a Rubi D44, or the D35 that you currently have. Everything else is going to require a small amount of fabrication or welding. A popular replacement for the D35 is the Ford 8.8 from an Explorer. It's got disk brakes and is pretty darn strong. However you'll need to weld on the brackets IE: spring buckets, CA brackets, Shock tabs, track bar, whatnot. Here's a good write up:

Ford 8.8 Axle Install - 1

Bracket kit:

TJ Wrangler Rear Axle Bracket Kit [Axle Kit-TJ] - $199.00 : Mad 4 Wheel Drive

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Are you sure there is no 8.25 something that comes out of a jeep product.. its leaf springs need to be switched from top to bottom. I forget the name of jeep he said it was. It's not the 8.8 though. That was ruled out because of my budget.... Near 0$ lol. Oh well. I'll find out more details tomorrow. I can't wait. He is looking into if it is the 3.07 I need.

·
Registered
281 Posts