Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2004 wrangler X 4.0l and i was stupid enough to buy it before researching the rear axle. I am planning on running 33x12.5 on a 15x8 wheel. My vehicle is my DD / weekend warrior. MY question: If i want to change the Gear ratio to 4.56 with my Dana 35's do I NEED to buy Dana 44's? Im on a budget and im not going to rally my jeep into the ground.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Kind of confused by your question. You don't have two Dana 35s, you have a Dana 35 in the rear and a Dana 30 in the front. The Dana 30 can handle 33s no problem but 33s are the upper limit for the Dana 35 and most would recommend swapping it for the d44 or Ford 8.8. I don't know what your stock gears are so that's something you'd have to figure out but I do believe 4.56s are ideal for 33s. Just to note, I'm no expert so if I'm wrong please correct me!

·
Registered
155 Posts
I have a 2004 wrangler X 4.0l and i was stupid enough to buy it before researching the rear axle. I am planning on running 33x12.5 on a 15x8 wheel. My vehicle is my DD / weekend warrior. MY question: If i want to change the Gear ratio to 4.56 with my Dana 35's do I NEED to buy Dana 44's? Im on a budget and im not going to rally my jeep into the ground.
I myself did not do my homework when I bought my jeep. If I had to do it over i would have went with a rubi.

I am running 33x12.5 with a 3.73 gears. I really need new gearing. I would love to step up to 4.56's, but I can't see throwing that investment into my D35. I keep hoping 1 day I will trip over a D44 that would bolt right in. Not holding my breath though. So until I can really get a handle on my options ( D44, 8.8 or super 35 kit ) I will be careful of the power I put to the rear.

I would think stepping up to 4.56's on this stock D35 would be even more detrimental then the 3.73's I am running know. More torque, twist, and Pop.

·
Registered
210 Posts