Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently have my JKU with Dana 44 rear, 3.73, limited slip in the shop for repair. I noticed a clunking noise develop in the rear over the last few weeks. I popped the rear diff cover to take a look. The attached images are what I found. No metal chunks or shavings in the fluid or stuck to the magnetic drain plug. The dealer looked at it today and said my bearings are bad, that metal was present from the bearings and they are replacing under warranty. When I asked about the ring and pinion, he said they found no problem with it.

I'm no expert, but the chip in the ring gear is not good and the pinion does not look good to me. What do you guys think?

Attachments

·
Registered
146 Posts
Your pictures and description of the ring and pinion don't alarm me, but the pictures aren't the clearest either. What DOES concern me is the lack of "No metal chunks or shavings in the fluid or stuck to the magnetic drain plug."
If the bearings were truly bad, there should have been a gross of fine metal on the magnet. The magnet should have looked like it had hair sticking to it. The other thing that concerns me is your statement; "I noticed a clunking noise develop in the rear over the last few weeks." If the noise was coming from the differential, I would be suspect of the Limited Slip mechanism. Not having heard the noise, I can't say that with any authority though. The noise could be from something else. Hopefully, they will check out the axle bearings while it is apart. One of them MIGHT be your noise.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·