Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not sure what they are making these keys with but I have been driving since 1981 and NEVER bent a key. WTH man - FCA - really?!?

Was in a rush to pick up my daughter from an ffter school event - new rules are you have to go inside and sign them out.

Park the 2 month old JKU - pull key out of ignition, and then the tip catches on the cylinder and BENDS the key - panic mode as it won't go back into ignition....luckily I saw someone form school maintenance and he let me use their vice to straighten it enough to get home. But now I don't trust it.

Off to stealer - $175 for a new key - what? are you kidding me?

Onto the interwebs. Found an exact OEM replacement with the FOB attachment and the immobilization chip for $12. Lowes was kind enough to cut it for me for FREE. Followed the instructions online on how to program it - flawless. $10 fix - in fact I ordered two just to have a 4th key just in case.

Uncut Remote Key FOB for Dodge Jeep Chrysler Keyless Entry 3B Kobdt04a http://r.ebay.com/9VlZ0F

You need 2 functioning keys that are programmed for the vehicle to program the third/fourth/fifth key and they MUST be able to turn the ignition into ACCESSORY - bend back if you have to.

But once again - WTH FCA - keys are not supposed to bend...

So now I have a 'spare' key hidden inside the jeep - behind an accessory panel that will allow me to drive away AND a key on the body that only opens the doors - just in case ;-)

:atomic::atomic::atomic::atomic::atomic:

·
Registered
2,227 Posts
Sounds like a freak occurrence. Probably would have happened with any key.

Glad you got fixed up. Thanks for the link to purchase.
Maybe you could post a link to the programming instructions too?

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Have all keys for the Jeep ready – You must have two working programmed or original keys to use this procedure.