Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys :wavey:

Just looking for a little feedback on how realistic (or unrealistic) it is for me to replace a leaky radiator on my 2003 Sahara. I'm a complete novice, but kind of smart (lol) and would have help from my dad. I have a small leak and my mechanic is telling me I MUST replace with a brand spankin' new one ($450 later :() Any tips/advice? Thanks!!

·
Registered
739 Posts
Should be doable for sure, especially with some help. I was a novice when I replaced my first radiator way back when. A shop will charge somewhere between 1 to 2 hours depending, allowing 0.1 hour for automatic transmission. Good luck with your project.

The following Threads may be of some help. Dodgeparts.com has OE parts. Might want to price a radiator out there (Go to "OEM Catalog").

1. Recent Thread re leak.
2. Recent Thread re coolant strength
3. Sources of DIY information.

·
Registered
26,916 Posts
Hi guys :wavey:

Just looking for a little feedback on how realistic (or unrealistic) it is for me to replace a leaky radiator on my 2003 Sahara. I'm a complete novice, but kind of smart (lol) and would have help from my dad. I have a small leak and my mechanic is telling me I MUST replace with a brand spankin' new one ($450 later :() Any tips/advice? Thanks!!
Everybody is losing their radiator lately. ;) I just replaced mine recently with the one Tim recommended above. (The CSF 2 row from Rdiator Barn) and I am very happy with it so far. Basic hand tools is all you'll need. :cool:

·
Registered
314 Posts
I just did mine a couple days ago. Go for it, it is do-able for a novice. Plus, you will have a lot of cool cuts on your hands to show your friends!

·
Jeeper
11,419 Posts