Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. Just pulled off my splash guard under the front bumper to install a bull bar, and found this (pics). Not connected. This is for a 2018 JL Wrangler Rubicon.

1. What is it?
2. Is it needed?
3. Should it be connected to something?

Thanks for the help. Loving being a Jeeper!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,729 Posts
Does that link come out of the bushing that easily? I don't believe it should at least. Yes, it is the sway bar link as has been stated, but I cannot see how it would be pulled off the bushing. Unless the JL link is very different from the JK.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
10,632 Posts
OP: the swaybar gives your Jeep stability in turns, particularly at speed. You want to drive the Jeep with extreme caution until you reconnect that swaybar.

It would be great to hear the story on this Jeep. I doubt the swaybar came disconnected from the factory. If it did, that’d bring FCA’s carelessness to new levels.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
History

This is a Rubicon, so I have the inside sway bar disconnect switch. And I did use that a few weeks ago in Big Bend, but turned it off as soon as I got done with the difficult spots of the trail.

I DID take it to get warranty work done on the steering issue (recall). After that, for the first time ever, I noticed play in the steering. Felt like it was shimmying, and memories of reading and watching videos of the death wobble popped into my head.

So it's likely that the tech may have manually disconnected it.

Does it connect to the bushing (in green)? If so, and the tech disconnected it, I drove a thousand miles (including 80+ mph) with it off.

Thank you again for your help.

Attachments

·
Registered
6,733 Posts