Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
900 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone know how heavy the front doors are. I fugure the back are lighter.

·
Registered
371 Posts
not sure of the exact weight... but the full door with power windows is fairly heavy...

·
Registered
160 Posts
I want to say its 55 to 60lbs depending on electric windows or not, as for the rear there 40 to 45lbs.

·
Registered
647 Posts
if youre thinking about taking them off just roll the window down first so you can put your arm though and use the top of it for another spot to hold onto :thumb:

·
Registered
187 Posts
The front door of my JKU is 62.5 lbs. Not light but not bad. Yes I weighed it when I took them off. I'm an engineer (geek). Make sure you know where you are putting it down before you are holding and trying to decide. Putting it back on is harder because you need to line up the holes.

I wonder if rolling the window down first to protect them and give more places the grab is a good idea. Any disadvantages to doing that?

·
Premium Member
12,478 Posts
The front door of my JKU is 62.5 lbs. Not light but not bad. Yes I weighed it when I took them off. I'm an engineer (geek). Make sure you know where you are putting it down before you are holding and trying to decide. Putting it back on is harder because you need to line up the holes.

I wonder if rolling the window down first to protect them and give more places the grab is a good idea. Any disadvantages to doing that?
Says to roll em down in the manual.

I took mine off at the beginning of winter to apply lithium grease to the hinges so that road salt wouldn’t get in there and make them hard to remove come Spring. Can’t imagine trying to take em off with the windows UP, quite frankly.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Can’t imagine trying to take em off with the windows UP, quite frankly.
Ha! :facepalm:

·
Registered