Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got a 2017 unlimited JK and found the driver door to be in a bind. Can't find the issue with a once look over. Anyone else have/had this problem? Thoughts on correcting it? Plan to take it back to the dealer but that's 100 miles away.

Btw noobie to the site! Great website!

:pullinghair:

·
Registered
373 Posts
Just got a 2017 unlimited JK and found the driver door to be in a bind. Can't find the issue with a once look over. Anyone else have/had this problem? Thoughts on correcting it? Plan to take it back to the dealer but that's 100 miles away.

Btw noobie to the site! Great website!

:pullinghair:

You can take it to any dealer, not just your purchase site. Any dodge/Chrysler dealer can help you. Welcome to be site. I'm new to Jeeps as well. :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Best way to describe it is when you push the handle/button to open the door the door "pops" open. And when you push it to close you have to slam it. I don't think it's the locking mechanism or latch as it's lined up. If you gently push all the other doors on the vehicle it will catch on the latch. But when you do the same for the driver door it bounces back prior to hitting the latch.

·
Registered
506 Posts
Mines the same way (2015).

Make sure the weatherstripping is properly installed/seated around the door, and see that it closes flush to the body.

·
Registered
100 Posts
if you take it to the dealer they will tell you that they are all that way and it has to brake in. I have a 2016 and the passenger door is fine, but the driver door is still very stiff. if you open the windows a little bit, it should work fine. they put very tight seals in these things so that they don't leak.

·
Registered
728 Posts
The door striker can be adjusted in and out too not just up and down.