Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

New Jeep owner to the Lincoln Park area, also new to manual transmission. I've already posted to the General TJ Forum, and got some great responses, but also wanted to hear from anyone specifically in Chicago.

Anyone have any advice on how they learned to drive in the city? I have plenty of friends who drive manual in the city, but not Jeeps specifically. So I was actually thinking about trying to hire someone for an hour or so to drive with, who can break it all down for me.

Let me know if you are aware of any services like this, outside of a typical driving school. If anyone on here is available in the upcoming weekends, I can pay for your time, and obviously we'd be taking my Jeep out. Thanks!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Well, here is my $.02 worth.
I've been driving a stick for many years. All are basically the same, except every car has a different sort of feel. Some smooth and easy, others ruff and hard.

Jeeps (at least my JK) are very forgiving. Just get one of your friends who drives a stick to ride with you and talk you through the process of starting and shifting.

When I taught my daughter to drive, we just started in a big empty parking lot and practiced starting and stopping. Maybe getting up to 2nd. When she became more confident in the process (easing up on clutch, giving more gas) and getting smoother gear shifts, we moved out into our residential streets. After more practice, we found a quiet street on a hill and practiced starting from a dead stop going up hill. You want to find some place where your jeep will roll backwards when you take your foot off the brake. Then just practice starting uphill. Don't worry about rolling backwards a little, it is natural.