Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone,

Just accepted into the wrangler family about 3 months ago with my 2000 Jeep wrangler. I simply love it and wont drive anything else again but... Im currently a college student so Im driving a lot around and stuff. My jeep has the 2.4 liter engine and its a 5-speed manual. I am leaving back home with and staying there so driving wont be key anymore unless its through MUD :thumb:
I want to do a Engine swap because stock isnt going to get me anywhere especially with a 2.4 little guy:banghead: . I have read and have been searching all over the place for whats the cheapest and easiest swap to do. I hear a lot of 350/290 horse power Gm engine and stuff like this which i am happy about but I am nothing close to a gear head or know anything about this sooooo.
Im looking to put in a new engine preferably V8 but wasnt sure what type of engine and if I would have to switch of my transmisson as well. Thanks so much.

·
Registered
1,365 Posts
If your not a gear head and with all the money your going to have to spend just sell your jeep and buy one with a 6cyl in it.... There is more than just engine and transmission to contend with. If the 6cyl ends up not being enough power then you can do a stroker kit or have a shop do one for you and you will still be ahead of the game money wise...

·
Registered
873 Posts
if you go with a mopar engine it might line up, my buddy has a yj with a 318 and stock tranny, but for a 350 i think you will have to swap the tranny but i could be wrong.

But why do you think you need a v8 swap? I know guys running 36 inch tires on a 4 cylinder and get through the mud holes just fine

·
Registered
8,397 Posts
First: A 2000 4 cyl probably has the 2.5L. The 2.4L was introduced to 4 cyl Wranglers in 2003.