Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy Guys.

I just spent about 90 minutes reading old threads in the forum, but nothing really answered my question. I have a 2015 JKU-R-HR. I am slowly building it out for expedition jeeping. I've been rock crawling, didn't like it. But I do enjoy a long ride through the wilderness.

Local guy says I am pretty much OK with the stock Rubicon Hard Rock skid plates. I added the Rancho Differential Skid Plates and the Rugged Ridge lower Control Arm skid Plates. But he did suggest a skid plate for the evap canister mighe be nice too. I seem to remember a thread somewhere about relocating the evap canister rather than protecting it with a skid plate. Can't find that thread now.

I do electronics/electrical, I am no mechanic. I want to do what will be the best solution for my jeep. So please, if you have done either, what kit did you use and why did you choose what you did - skid plate or relocate?

Or BOTH?

Mike -- El Paso, Texas.

·
Registered
1,328 Posts
I am slowly building it out for expedition jeeping. I've been rock crawling, didn't like it. But I do enjoy a long ride through the wilderness
Since rock crawling may be less often a good evap skid plate <$100 will protect the fragile OEM bracket and evap from trails, wilderness etc. Relocating the evap unit is another good option but involves more work than replacing the OEM bracket. Might be overkill but I added the AL oil pan/trans skid plate for the wandering tree limb/trashcan obstacles one might encounter.

·
Registered
181 Posts

Attachments

·
Registered
1,562 Posts
I have an Evo skid on mine. Love it, super strong. Got a few good hits on it too.