Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Everyone has an opinion....what I really want to know, other than the desire to hear your exhaust, is there any performance enhancement, or is it just...I wanna hear some noise....same thing about adding cold air...is it just noise, or is there really a benefit....new to me 2012 sport...so I'm new to this....

·
Sponsoring Vendor
330 Posts
Surprisingly I did see a notice a power increase after putting on the Magnaflow Rock Crawler exhaust. I would like to say I've been there and done that with the power adders and placebo effect of more noise on my old TJ. So when I put the Magnaflow kit on, I was only expecting more noise.

However, this is my experience. The '12 JK has 4.10 gears, and is turning 38" tires. I drive a stretch of freeway through the mountains fairly often, and with the stock exhaust, it would hold OD only on flat ground/no headwind, and so I would normally just lock OD off. Most hills would need 4th and the steep ones would need 3rd. After putting on the Magnaflow, I was surprised to notice the Jeep was now climbing all but the steepest in 4th gear. And it can hold OD much easier on the flats/small grades. The Jeep gets about 1+ MPG better too. I was very suprised!

·
Premium Member
16,902 Posts
No. Unless you have seriously modded the "air pump" that is the Motor..... modding the free flow of air IN (CAI) OR the free flow of air OUT (CAT-Back) - there is no appreciable difference that even IF it happened the computer would adjust to compensate.
That said, Modify the Motor and then you will see Modest measureable gains by freeing up air flow.
Yes there are many opinions and everyone has a right to theirs, what they don't have a right to is making up the results.