Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Doesn't know much
456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I have my Wrangler at an auto body place next door from work, and I'm getting ready to fail my Safety and Emissions here in the state of VA.

I don't have any word on it yet, but what they are telling me already is:
Brakes
Windshield Wipers
Something is wrong with the suspension...
3rd brake light is out
Exhaust Leak

Now I have never done breaks before, but I've seen it done, and I have the service manual for my Wrangler. I know I can save a couple hundred doing that in the garage. Windshield Wipers are obviously not a problem. But it's the suspension that has me rattled.

I've noticed when I've been taking hard corners, it sounds like something is grinding underneath the Jeep... any idea on what this might be? I'm tossing around the idea this morning of installing a body lift, might as well, I'll have the wheels off, right?

The exhaust leak, I have no idea what that could be. Last year the garage that I took it to passed it no problems, it's a catback that the PO had previously installed.

A little nervous at where my pocketbook might be sitting at the end of all this. Anybody in the NOVA area feel like helping a rookie wrench on his Jeep this weekend?

I'll update as I find out more from the garage. I kind of feel like I'm being taken advantage of.

·
Registered
224 Posts
What exactly did they tell you about the brakes and suspension?

Third brake light may just be replacing a bulb for $5 bucks. Exhaust leak could be a bad weld or loose clamp. Grinding could be bearing going out or power steering starting to fail.

You may want to take it to another garage for a second opinion as well if you feel you are getting nickel and dimed.

·
Doesn't know much
456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·