Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I wanted to wheel joshua tree and anyone who says there isn't fun trails there hasn't gone out with bonbreak98.

It was a blast. To this point I had not done anything tougher then the miller jeep trail and we took on much more then that. Thanks bone break for leading a wonderful adventure.

I'm new to this (only had a jeep for a year) and have so far over many easy trails with the occasional obstacles made it through unscathed.

As I limped home with a destroyed steering box, a broken pit and a bent tie rod, I reflected on how impressed I was at my rigs abilities( for a while I was hanging with the big boys) and also on the idea that if I was a more accomplished driver, perhaps I would have avoided the damage all together.

I found myself wanting to keep up with the bigger rigs in front, I didn't want to slow anyone down asking for a spot or some guidance. Lesson learned. Was so fun, but from now on, if I'm not sure of a line I'm getting out and taking a look. $ doesn't grow on trees and I would hate for $ to stop me from living the dream.

Would love to hear other first dose of reality stories.

·
Registered
2,924 Posts
The real enlightenment will come at the register!
It is a must, a lesson to learn, when to say no. Humbling, yes I know but a good lesson none the less.

Here in the South everyone likes the mud. But the mud is just a pool of lapping compound that eats everything on a Jeep. Mud cost big money to play in and makes the Jeeps horrible to drive on the road until you replace all the lapped out joints yearly..

·
Super Moderator
9,112 Posts
^^^ X2!!!

I have been offroading for six years: I have done some serious wheeling, but I still have to break a steering box and bend a tie rod.