Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought this 2005 LJ that came already lifted by 4 inches and with 31" tires. My issue is that I have pretty intense bump steer and it just feels top-heavy in general. As a first-time owner, I'm still learning tons about lift and steering geometry. What I found was that the PO installed a drop pitman and that all four coils have 1.5" spacers. The transfer case has been dropped and it also seems to have an SYE installed.

My goal is to make it look better, drive better, without losing gas mileage. From my research I found that the best looking and most affordable style for my needs are to have the LJ on 32's on a 2.5" lift accomplished by removing the spacers. How much would I really need to change to accomplish this goal, and will it break the bank to do so?

11084357_10203985165365039_356026948_n.jpg

11117407_10203985165085032_1765889099_n.jpg

11106242_10203985166445066_456153644_n.jpg

11072304_10203985166165059_2086191826_n.jpg

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Based on the limited info you have on this lift, it looks like you won't have any problem with removing the spring spacers. Lowering the spring lift is usually not accompanied by complications, especially if you already have a lowered transfer case and SYE. You may even find that with the LJ, you might get away with losing the transfer case spacers and put it back in its original location, if for no other reason than to maximize your ground clearance.

Looks like one bump stop rubber is missing, but other than that they look stock.