Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. Recently pulled the trigger on a 2016 unlimited sport w soft top. I am having so much fun especially with the unseasonably warm weather here right now and between the rain the top is down and music is loud. Wife says it is safer than a Harley for mid life crisis. Having fun. Long time fly fisherman. Can't wait to take it to western NC, eastern TN and N Ga and around SMNP with a kid or dog along with me.

First mod (not really a mod ...): Am going to add tow hitch for hauingl drift boat.

Next mod: I need some help. Thinking of a minor lift and bigger tires. Came with stock 17 x 7.5 aluminum wheels with p255/75R17 owl on/off road tires (31 in I think)

I would like to get to some of the really off the beaten track places to find "blue lines" to fish in the tri state area and know I can get in and out. Would. 2.5 lift and 33 tires do the trick. Or more lift and 35s? Will not be daily driver (long Atlanta traffic commute) but more of evening and weekend vehicle.

Other than wheels/tires and suggested mods with fly fishing trips to the backcountry planned? Rod holder set ups? Lights? Ideas for dog owners (chocolate lab and golden)

Welcome any ideas. Can't wait to customize and get out there with some family/friends/canines to chase some brookies and more.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I run the beach in Texas and fly fish in the surf - so I need quick access to fly rods. I have magnetic fly rod holders I used on my F150 (attach on the hood and roof), but there's not enough metal above the JK windshield to attach them securely. Any ideas?

·
Registered
96 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Thanks. I like mmohorovich's design. I think I'll go that way.

The Titan Rod Vault are 10.5 ft - I use 11ft and 14 ft two-handed rods in the surf.

I trust my magnetic rod holders - not sure I would trust the suction cups on the beach with the salt and sand.

·
Registered
143 Posts