Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am a newbie here. I have a '04 rubicon and will be doing a V8 conversion, just not sure which motor I want to go with yet. I have it narrowed down, but im going to stay open minded as well. This will be my daily driver which the whole reason for my question so I will get to it now... I know there are tons of threads about V8 conversions, but I can not find anything about the gas mileage from people who have completed it. I was looking for some numbers from people that had the conversion already and not just estimates. Info on any V8's (preferably 5.0L up with 300+rwhp and tq) as well as the gears you are running with that would be greatly appretiated.

·
Registered
1,718 Posts
Most of the people I know that did the V8 mod are not concerned with gas milage. I'm not sure if you would actually see anything better then a few miles better to be honest.

·
Registered
140 Posts
I have one of these

While it is not 300 rwhp it does throw down a very dependable 300ft. lbs of torque at very usable rpms. 0 - 60 mph in 8 seconds. I get a fairly consistent 16 mpg. I would.get better if I weren't over geared (4.88s with 32in tires ). This was a very straightforward swap only taking about 50hrs. and most parts are off the shelf at the part store or jeep wrecking yard, not a lot of fancy adapters here.

·
Premium Member
28,214 Posts