Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So after cutting my fender flares I noticed a bit of frame rot in front of my rear tire on the drivers side. Looks pretty bad. What should I do about this? Is this an easy repair? It runs about 6 inches along the bottom of the frame and about a half inch up each side

Attachments

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. So do I purchase this piece and take it to a frame shop or what? I have no welding experience at all

·
Registered
47 Posts
thats what I'm doing, I'm deployed right now but i bought the pair for the that rear section and I'm having them both replaced at a friends welding shop while I'm gone

·
Registered
688 Posts
Its very common, Over the last few weeks I have gone through my chassis completely as I had the same area go bad where the rear upper control arm mounts in to the frame. I took out the upper control arms, Cut out all the rot and rebuilt the whole sections with heavy duty brackets and all new 3/16. Also took the time and reinforced other known areas such as rear frame next to bumper, transfercase skid, and steering box area. Just in case, and I wanted to mess with the frame all at once rather then piece by piece or else It would be annoying. My frame is 2/3rd new steel haha! ( joking )

·
Registered
1,816 Posts