Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All,

I'm very new to this frame rot and need some advice. I recently bough a 2000 tj and the shop I had inspect it saw no issues. I was under it earlier and noticed a long rusty open space in the frame. Is this something that can be braced by a good welder (not me, I work with them)? Is this something that needs to get fixed ASAP, or is this typical for a northern 2000?

Thanks

Aaron

Attachments

·
Registered
179 Posts
Ug that looks bad. TJs seem to start rusting around the control arm mounts, especially in areas that salt the roads. I'd fix it as soon as you could. If you know someone with fabrication skills you can have a patch made, otherwise a company named Autorust makes patches you can weld on.

Worst case is the frame fails in that spot. It happened to me with the rear control arm mount. I was just lucky it finally went close to home. If you want to see how the Autorust patches work you can check my thread:http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/i-hate-rust-555113.html

·
Registered
1,365 Posts
If your shop missed that I would only go back there to tell them off. You need to get that fixed.

·
Registered
455 Posts
Definitely need to get that fixed ASAP. Patches are a good start like Mets said; if you know someone with the skill to fix it for you

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
If your shop missed that I would only go back there to tell them off. You need to get that fixed.
No Kidding! They should have at least warned him about it.......dont go back to that shop!!

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Took off the steps to get a better look and to beat out the rest. All I can say is wow. I'm really glad I found this because I can't be more than a pothole or two away from breakage. As you can see, the rust ate all the way through both sides.