Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I am new here and a proud owner of a 2013 Rubicon and I have tons of questions but I am going to take my time with upgrades. I am completely new to Off Roading so please forgive my ignorant questions. I spent 20 years in the Air Force and could not afford to do this then...and now I can.

So I am curious about front bumpers. I do not like the stock plastic bumper or the hunk of plastic underneath it. Is that supposed to be a plastic skid plate?

1. What is the purpose of a bull bar or stinger bar? (My guess would be mounting for lights and added protection.)

2. As I am not comfortable welding or cutting my Jeep what front bumper would you recommend for light offroading and will provide something that would help with recovery in case I do something I regret?

3. If you have installed a new front bumper (any brand) can you give me the negatives and positives of those bumpers?

I'm hoping to find something I can install myself and won't add a ton of weight to the front but I want good protection (mostly from me being stupid). Iowa also requires a license plate in the front. Extra lighting or at least let me still use the stock fog lights is a bonus. Plus I would like it to mate up with a skid plate to replace that piece of plastic junk. Not even sure what that is supposed to protect.

Anyways Thank you for your recommendations. It is appreciated.

·
Registered
522 Posts
Welcome to WF!

I believe Bullbars were originally made to protect the front end from animal collisions. I got one because I like the looks and future lighting locations. I guess it could also protect the radiator if something hits me higher than the bumper itself. Stingers can possibly prevent an endo, or protect the front end during an endo.