Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone else found out that their front diff was over filled from factory? I have a 2014 jk. Got it last April new and last summer noticed slight wetness underneath the a/c compressor. It was very small so I wasn't worried at first. A little about me. I am a mechanic. Mostly worked at a nissan dealer. So last week I did my oil change and noticed it got worse. So I took it to this dealer to check it out. Also had some other things wrong with it. Small stuff for them to fix. Picked it up at the end of the day and they said they didn't see a leak. So I got a little upset. Told them to put it on a lift and I'll show them the leak. I showed the guy and he also noticed the breather tube for the front diff was leaking. I told him it looked more like something was leaking on to the tube from above. So he pulled the full plug on the front diff and gear oil came flying out. Apparently it was so full it was blowing the fluid upwards. I was upset and asked him if he's ever seen this before. He said once or twice. Now me being a mechanic is wondering if that has compromised my axle seals. I checked to see if they were leaking and they seem fine. Just worried and upset because it's a brand new jeep. Was wondering if anyone else had this problem.

·
Super Moderator
22,012 Posts
common issue. but seems like if the vent is not plugged should not have built up enough pressure to hurt a seal. I know on my 2014 rubicon the front takes less than a quart to fill and specs say supposed to be 1.3 or something like that and rear takes less then 1.5 qt and supposed to take over 2 so I am guessing the factory fill is what ever they spec. I suppose it depends on how the axle is tilted how much oil goes in before coming out fill plug. Probably sit at a different angle at the dana-spicer factory then when on the jeep.

·
Super Moderator
15,377 Posts