Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm trying to chase down a vibration at highway speeds. I'm down to my stock front driveshaft. The CV/U Joints look and feel fine. However, there is some play/wiggle at the splines. If I grab each side of the shaft and do a push/pull, the shaft will move 1/8" or so.

Is this normal?

Thanks!

Matt

2009 JKUR

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi Matt, I know it's been a year, but did you ever get an answer to your question. I was about to post the exact same thing when I came across yours.

Mike

·
Registered
634 Posts
Since you just added your question to the thread, I’ll mention that it my research says it should not move. I’m not an expert, but have been researching because I need a new front driveshaft. Everything I have read says no movement is spec, any movement is bad. Mine moves about 1-2mm, the truck makes a loud clicking sound in 4H or 4L and at the bellows end of the driveshaft there is grease splatter. Here is a pic. Compare to your rear, my rear has zero grease and is rick solid, no motion.

Attachments

·
Registered
5,294 Posts
The rzeppa pictured above is at the beginning of the end. I would remove that driveshaft before it removes itself.

Reactions: BOSSTANK

·
Registered
634 Posts
Thanks YNotaJeep. That’s what I thought, amd what my shop thought, too, so it’s in process, Adams 1350’s en route for front and rear. Figured I’ll just keep out of 4 until they arrive. No Driveshaft noise under no load so I think the no load spinning of front is still ok for a few days. Nice Bernese in your avatar!

·
Registered
5,294 Posts
If you plan on replacing the pinion yokes, let us know how you plan on doing it without changing the crush sleve load on the pinion. The Adams shafts are my choice also.