Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Oooooookay! I'm currently in the process of installing a 2.5" lift. I'm doing it in the cold, in my driveway and with a limited selection of tools. I have both rear leafs installed and it went quite well, considering that I have NO automobile knowledge and I have never worked on a car of any type before my current YJ. I'm now starting the first front leaf and its not going so well.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I'm not sure what exactly the problem is, but I'm just having trouble getting it mounted to all 3 mounting points. Does anyone have a step by step specifically for the front leafs?

·
Registered
443 Posts
I'd say jack up the axle one side at a time and only work on one leaf at a time. Make sure you have them the correct direction, make sure the center pin in leaf fits into perch on axle. I think when I did mine I bolted leaf to frame first then front shackle and then lowered axle onto leaf spring. Much easier with 2 ppl. Almost impossible with 1 but I did my rear with just me and took a while.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Carralo1 said:
I'd say jack up the axle one side at a time and only work on one leaf at a time. Make sure you have them the correct direction, make sure the center pin in leaf fits into perch on axle. I think when I did mine I bolted leaf to frame first then front shackle and then lowered axle onto leaf spring. Much easier with 2 ppl. Almost impossible with 1 but I did my rear with just me and took a while.
I've made sure the leaf is the correct size and it fits the axle. I've tried bolting it to the front first, then I tried bolting it to the rear first........I don't get it. Maybe I'm just getting too frustrated and not looking at it right.

·
Registered
62 Posts
i had to bolt it to the shackle first, then to the axle, and finally the Frame.
I tried it shackle/frame/axle and i couldnt get the pin centered.