Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello!

Brand new to forum. Just recently bought a 2013 wrangler sport that has the alpine system (sub on back passenger side). I’ve done some considerable research on upgrading the sound and originally wanted to keep the stock head unit to retain steering wheel functions and my Sirius subscription. I read somewhere that in keeping this I’ll lose the ability to control the bass, treble, fade, etc which is a deal breaker for me. The solution involved using the stock amp as a processor and seemed beyond what I’m willing and capable of handling on my own.

So far, I’ve purchased a set of component speakers for the front, 6.5s for the sound bar, a compact 4 channel amp and a separate compact amp/sub package that I was going to put under a seat or mount where the existing sub and trim are (would remove existing factory sub and box).

Admittedly, I’m a total amateur and have not installed an aftermarket system on my own before but I see it as a winter project and I’m eager to dive into it. However, I’m stuck now in identifying what additional components are required with a new head unit to keep steering wheel controls/Sirius. Both amps have stereo level inputs.