Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning. I finally fixed a problem I have been chasing for 5 or 6 years. I just thought y'all might find it funny as i did. So, I have owned my jeep for 12 years, and as long as I can remember I would get a rattle from the front suspension at times. This was a light rattle not a heavy rattle. And only happened on a sharp bounce like a pot hole or a wash board dirt road. I have jacked up the front end off the ground and shook everything. Beat it with a rubber mallet, but no rattle. I was concerned at first it might be a bad ball joint. But no. I finally just decided it would let me know when it was ready to be fixed. And I am not that guy, but damn, I could not find it. So fast forward. My jeep is currently destroyed while I am doing an LS swap and flat fenders. While washing the stripped down engine bay I heard it. On the drivers side, inside the coil spring, at the bottom, is a little aluminum cup turned upside down with a hole in it. After comparing to the right side I see it should be attached to the axle by a bolt. I guess this is supposed to keep the coil spring located during hard wheeling. Which I do not. Anyway a quick bolt down and I can look forward to the only noise coming from my jeep will be the sound of a good old American V-8, eventually. And it only took 8 years to find it.
Laugh at me or with me, I don't care!! Rob

·
Super Moderator
6,896 Posts
On the drivers side, inside the coil spring, at the bottom, is a little aluminum cup turned upside down with a hole in it. After comparing to the right side I see it should be attached to the axle by a bolt. I guess this is supposed to keep the coil spring located during hard wheeling
sounds like a bumpstop extension, it's not OEM.

post a pic

·
Registered
1,210 Posts