Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Evening,

I am new to the wrangler community and have a question about gas mileage. I have done a few searches, but am not having much luck.

I have an 05 Rubicon on 33's (6-Spd). I haven't done the math, but I know my gas mileage sucks. I'm not expecting to get Prius-like mileage, but would like to see how I can improve what I am getting now. Any ideas?

Gears? If so, which size?

Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

·
Registered
66 Posts
A regear would help. Quadratec has a good chart here: https://www.quadratec.com/jeep_knowledgebase/article-26.htm
that can help you choose what gears you want. I would probably suggest 4.56, but it depends on how you want to use your jeep. Smaller tires would help, but of you're like me, then you favor the bigger tires over the better fuel economy. Other than that, the only thing I know to do is to drive like an old man and not floor it when the light turns green. I wish there was some magical way to get great gas mileage but if it exists, I don't know about it haha

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
@ZJeeper: I have seen this chart, but do not understand. As you guessed, smaller tires are not an option.

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
@MuddyRed: I would like to use it as a daily driver. Any off-roading I do requires a lot of driving. I am not looking to do a bunch of rock crawling.

Mostly DD and a few trails, to the beach, and mud puddles.

·
Full Size Jeep Dr.
3,431 Posts