Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The guy at my favorite off-road shop says that when I go from 33" to 35" tires I'll have to re-gear. He said that my jeep will be gutless. I didn't really notice anything between the factory 32"s and my true 33"s when I installed them. I have a 2011 JKUR with a six speed. I see tons of has JKs with 35"s, and I can't imagine they've all re-geared. Any advise would be appreciated.

·
Registered
225 Posts
I have no experience with your particular rig, but I've been doing a ton of research on this topic for myself. From everything I've read, your shop's statement seems to hold a lot of truth......particularly with the earlier 3.8 motors. Does your Rubicon have the 3.73 or 4.10 gears?

·
Banned
2,660 Posts
With what you've described, you'll be fine.
Some opinions are like........... well, you know
lol

ps- I run 35s with 4.10s and exhaust and my rig hauls ass.

·
Registered
2,642 Posts
You will be fine.

·
Premium Member
16,902 Posts
The "guy" at the shop either is a salesman or he simply doesn't know what he's talking about.
The 3.6 with 4.10s can easily handle 35's and do so nicely.
AEV is a decent builder of Rigs and routinely fields that combo.
As for advice, Yes ignore him.

·
Super Moderator
62,805 Posts
The guy at my favorite off-road shop says that when I go from 33" to 35" tires I'll have to re-gear. He said that my jeep will be gutless. I didn't really notice anything between the factory 32"s and my true 33"s when I installed them. I have a 2011 JKUR with a six speed. I see tons of has JKs with 35"s, and I can't imagine they've all re-geared. Any advise would be appreciated.
^^^^^
The "guy" at the shop either is a salesman or he simply doesn't know what he's talking about.
He has a 2011. He may need them with the 3.8.....I say may, that'll be up to him.

·
Registered