Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
OK, so I have been going back and forth waffling between some dual band ham radios for the JK. I think that my "must have" is a detachable face because my Jeep feels cluttered as it is and a small remote located faceplate seems like a good idea. Here are the ones I am considering:

ICOM IC-2730A

Yaesu FTM-100DR

They are very similar in price and both have detachable faces. Does anyone have experiences with these that could give me input on features, mics, build quality or anything else that could sway my decision.

Am I missing a better option? The Kenwood TM-V71A looks nice, but I am not sure about the large price difference.

Maybe a TYT TH-7800? Good deal on eBay right now.

·
Registered
1,485 Posts
I have no experience with either of the radios you mentioned. However, I will back you up about the removable faceplate idea. In a vehicle with a small passenger compartment like our Jeeps, a removable faceplate is a godsend when it comes to mounting the radio. It will open up many, many more mounting possibilities. I run older Yaesu FT-7900R radios, and in my TJ I mounted the faceplate to the windshield frame above the sun visor. This makes it extremely easy to view at a glance, but also keeps it completely out of the way.

·
Registered
5,186 Posts
I have the IC-2730A that I bought around 6 months ago to replace a FT-8900R. The Icom is definitely a more user friendly interface. I think performance wise they’re very similar. After using both I prefer the Icom to the Yaesu.

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have the IC-2730A that I bought around 6 months ago to replace a FT-8900R. The Icom is definitely a more user friendly interface. I think performance wise they’re very similar. After using both I prefer the Icom to the Yaesu.
I have been leaning that way definitely. Thanks

·
Registered
5,186 Posts