Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm a new TJ owner, first jeep ever, and I am loving it. As its only been a few days I am still learning the ins and outs of my vehicle.

I took it on its first extended ride today and one thing I noticed was that the e-brake is not engaging while my foot is on the brake pedal, even though it's ratcheting and everything. When I take my foot off the brake pedal, then disengage and reengage the handbrake everything is fine and it seems to engage properly. It surprised me a little to say the least. Now at the risk of sounding silly but is it supposed to be this way or is this something to be looked at? Is it one of those "jeep things" that is meant to be this way? After doing a search on the forums I couldn't seem to find a clear answer to this, I guess this is somewhat of an indication that something is out of order?

Thanks in advance!

Squidbilly

·
Registered
201 Posts
The e brake on these jeeps activates the rear brakes. There is no separate e brake. Therefore, If you have the brakes applied and pull the e brake, it should simply hold the rear brakes on.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Aha thank you for this information matt88-8! It seems in my case, while situated on a slight decline, the e-brake did not lock the rear wheels when I engaged it while holding the foot brake. When I let go of the foot brake the car started rolling, even though I had pulled the e-brake all the way up. I then disengaged and reengaged the e-brake (now with my foot off the foot brake petal) and the car stopped rolling. Would you say this is normal?

·
Registered
2,036 Posts