Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.

first sorry 4 my english , its not my native language but i will give it a try.
When u got the softtop on and want to switch to hardtop, do u have to remove the (list) between the body and softtop or can u leave it ?
Just bought the car so im a newbie.
Reason why i ask is that i will get a new paint on and are concerned about scratching it .
Hope u understand what i mean.

TX in advance

·
Super Moderator
53,781 Posts
(list) what do u mean by this?

Pretty much everything is to be removed
When installing the hard top. U can leave the brackets or the things on the side roll bar (sport bar) and the seal across the front window.

My main ?.... I hope your not switching over now :)

Never ever ever ever.... ever call your jeep a car :)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dont know the word for it , its the metal plates that u use to fit the softtop to the body back at the car.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Havent yet mounted my softtop but when i was unpacking it i found this metal plates which i think will fit on the body all around back and the sides for the softtop to attach aginst the body.
Two on the sides and 2 in the corners and one back.

·
Super Moderator
53,781 Posts
Gizmo69 said:
Havent yet mounted my softtop but when i was unpacking it i found this metal plates which i think will fit on the body all around back and the sides for the softtop to attach aginst the body.
Two on the sides and 2 in the corners and one back.
Yes, the bottom of the soft top has plastic strips. When mounted the plastic strip presses into those rails your talking about.
I forget how they attach but use the same holes as the hardtop uses. Only drilling you might have to do is those two brackets I pictured. Those are for the back for the tailgate bar (attaches to bottom of window) and the plastic strips to tuck into.