Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm New to the Jeep world and happened upon a 88 Jeep Wrangler. It didn't come with a top so I picked one up from a junkyard. The top is newer 93? than the Jeep so there is no wiring for a wiper motor in the body. There is a plug on the Top which has 8 pins and also a micro switch I'm not sure if it is to turn the light on when the door is or not allow the wiper to function when the door is open? There is two spare wires with the tail light wiring, I'm assuming are for the courtesy light- pink, Black/white. The rear wiper wires and tubing I will be running up to the dash.
So, My questions are, what are each of the 8 wires for, I'm not seeing them on the schematics I've found. I'd like to test to make sure the motor works before I get to involved. Is there something else I'm not seeing that some of the wires go to?
Next would be i will need a wiper switch and a double pump washer fluid tank. What model years do I dare try to find? Wrangler or any other Jeep product. I have two spare switch slots lower right of the steering column would be nice to put the switch in. Thanks

·
Super Moderator
11,932 Posts
Welcome to the Forum Grizzy67,

I think you're going to be stuck doing the trial and error method.
You might find a schematic by looking for a post by Got it at last or IRQ. Each of those members have a link to Factory Service Manuals in their signature, Once you find a post by either, click on their signature to expand it, then click on the bold text Service Manuals. Then click on the FSM that matches your Jeep. The schematics are usually in the electrical troubleshooting section.

For the trial & error method, find the black wire. That should be the ground. Make a jumper to a good ground on the body then proceed to put power to each color wire to see what happens. You might want to use a fused power wire while experimenting. Keep a record of what color wire does what.