Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay I'm new to jeeps. And new to this forum stuff so take it easy on me. With that said I need help I'm totally lost on what to do next!

I have a pretty much stock 1998 jeep wrangler tj, 2.5L 5speed 4x4 144,000 miles NO check engine light! Pretty much stock. No big tires or lift

When I bought with in the first tank of gas I noticed it got VERY poor gas mileage! I burn up a quarter tank in about 25 miles!!!

So I figured okay it needs a tune up bad! So I changed the oil, spark plugs, wires, rotor and cap. And the gas mileage didn't improve.
So I got a AEM brute force cold air intake, once again no improvement!
So I got a Airaid throttle body spacer, with no improvement! A friend tolde maybe my CAT or my muffler was bad!
So I got Pacesetter headers, Magnaflow Cat, and Magnaflow Cat back.

STILL NO improvement! I have no idea whatelse to check an or change!!!!

Please someone for the love of god help me!! Gas prices the way they are this is chewing a big hole in my pocket every week to and from work!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
One tank of gas gets me about 87-113 miles! That's from over flowing to gas light coming on! There is NO Leaks in the fuel system! And I don't think the brakes are hung up cause I don't smell them or hear them! So I have no idea what it could be!

·
Registered
175 Posts
i have a 98 jeep as well but jeeps in general just have poor gas millage
i believe the 98 four cylinder as 14-15 mpg on the city

·
Registered
839 Posts
113 miles out of a 15 gallon tank on your 98 equals about 7.5 mpg...something is definitely wrong, you should be getting about 17-18 mpg out of a stock 4 banger.

Have you replaced your 02 sensor yet? If not give that a try.

·
Registered
126 Posts